Lol, whats this?? A scam email??? :p

Last week I put my laptop for sale in Loot, a UK based ads paper ( think of it as a ebay on paper 😛 ). So anyway, I got a few responses, but so far, they all seem to be scam emails lol. One email in particular has a request for the laptop to be shipped to Nigeria (how typical), and she was willing to pay £20 extra to persuade me to only sell to her 😮 .

I thought for once I’d play along with the scammer. I sent an email saying I’d only pay to people who meet and pay me in London. The reply I got was the funniest scam response I’ve read so far. She emailed back saying she works on a boat as a sailor, and can’t meet me or pay me in person, but she can pay via Paypal. Bear in mind that this person hasn’t asked about the condition of the laptop, or any pictures of it. So I replied saying that that is fine with me, but I need her account details first to make sure it was a valid account.

I got a response saying that Paypal has authorised us 😆 to not give out account information, and am I trying to scam her 😮 . TBH, yes I was trying to scam the scammer, it was getting kinda fun making them get their hopes up that I might share account information with them. 😛 I replied saying, oh noes, not the password, just the account details to make sure it was valid “as I want to protect myself against fraud.” 😀 We’ll that seemed to end my little game, I got a reply saying she was no longer interested and I could sell to who I wanted. I decided it was time to let all my frustration at scammers out, and I sent a very colourfully worded email, telling them I knew what they were doing, and I was playing along to it to annoy them 😀

So far I haven’t got a reply, but no doubt there’ll be plenty of scam email everytime I advertise something, so next time I’ll be a bit more careful when I ask for info and maybe I’ll be able to make them do some of the silly stuff you find at the 419 Eater forums. 👿

Leave a Reply

